A password-protected directory or area is a folder which may be accessed when a username and a password are entered, so no unauthorized people could observe its content. This feature could be used for the primary folder of a particular site or exclusively for a certain subfolder based upon your preferences. As an illustration, when you are creating a new site and you don't want people to see it before it's 100% ready, you should prohibit the access to it completely, and if you want only some people to be able to access certain files, you can password-protect only a certain folder, while the other parts of the site may be seen by everyone. Regardless, a “403 Forbidden” error page will appear in the event that the login details the visitor types in aren't accurate. Even a direct link to a file shall not work provided any folder above it is password-protected.
Password Protected Directories in Shared Hosting
Creating a password-protected area will take only a few mouse clicks and a few seconds if you host your websites within a shared hosting
account with our company. You'll not have to do anything complicated - you'll need to pick a domain/subdomain, to select which folder under it has to be secured, and then to type the login name and password that'll be used to access that folder. When a number of individuals need their own login details, there will not be a problem to create several different usernames with access to the same exact folder. All secured folders will appear with a padlock icon inside the File Manager section, so you will always know where this option is active. If you'd like to turn off the protection function for any folder, you can disable it from the same exact section of the Control Panel in which you have enabled it.